Advertisement

This is what the super adventure club truely believes..

topic posted Sat, March 25, 2006 - 6:25 AM by  Steve
Share/Save/Bookmark
I am new to this tribe and I joined mainly because I am a SP fan but I don't quite get the hidden meanings. South Park is reknowned for being as accurate about these hidden meanings as they can be, so what does it really mean then? Specifically I couldn't find info on any Super Aventure Club or Morloc beliefs on pedophelia, scientology or otherwise. Did they just ake it allup to do nothing but slam scientology without reason? That just doesn't sound like them.
posted by:
Steve
San Diego
Advertisement
  • Unsu...

During the Scientology episode while some character was blathering on about the "Dark Lord Xenu" they
    put that across the bottom of the screen. It's a reference to that episode.

I don't think they slammed Scientology without a reason; they seem to me to be pretty much equal opportunity
    slammers and pretty much everything deserves a bit of slamming now and then (hippies, people offended
    by hippies, cops using psychics, making political hay out of people in vegetative states, etc.) , but I think
    Scientology deserves to be pretty high on the list. I think they were slamming the whole situation, although
    my problem with this episode was that it seemed too directed toward Isaac Hayes and a bit mean.

F.
  • Unsu...

Here's an excerpt from Allissa Stanly's article that pretty much answeres your question

<begin>
    Scientologists can seem peculiar and overly defensive. But so can the executives at Viacom. The media giant has a history of pressuring its subsidiaries to cave under pressure: CBS canceled the mini-series "The Reagans" after a right-wing lobbying campaign threatened a boycott of advertisers' products. (CBS also disinvited Janet Jackson from the Grammys after her "wardrobe malfunction" during a Super Bowl halftime show, which was produced by yet another Viacom company, MTV.)