Advertisement

crochet patterns

topic posted Fri, February 15, 2008 - 6:53 AM by  Gill-Niranjana
Share/Save/Bookmark
Hi
I'm new to this and am hoping to find either some crochet or simple knitting patterns for belly dance hip scarfs. Can anyone help? xx
Advertisement
  • Unsu...

here are a few for sale on esty....

www.etsy.com/search_results.php

i might get them myself!
    • Those are very pretty! I wish I could share my patterns, but they just come outta my head as I go...I have tried to write them down and get alll CONFUSED! But if you can crochet just a bit...make a chain the size of your hips, or a little smaller, and then just get creative with your stitches...just remember to watch your ends so they dont start getting smaller or too big...I wish you luck!
      Gigi
  • da
    da
    offline 3
    Just about any shawl pattern would work. You'd just need to make sure that your longest row was your hip size plus enough to tie.
    You may find a pattern on this page:
    www.crochetpatterncentral.com/dir....php
    • da
      da
      offline 3
      I also just remembered that you might look for filet patterns or perhaps a 'fishnet' pattern.
      I usually just make mine up as I go along but the fishnet is the easiest.

If I were making a hip scarf right now, I'd make my chain row about 10-15 inches longer than my hip measurement. My second row would be all double crochet. My third and every following row would be a repeat of: 1dc, ch 1, 1 dc, ch1. If you decrease by one stich on each end for each row, you'll make a triangle.

If you don't want it to hang quite so long, you could try something like:
      (beginning of row) The chain three is the first dc then 1dc, ch1, skip 2 spaces, put the next dc in the next three stitches. (meaning, don't finish the stitch all of the way until you're hooked into 3 sets of loops)