Advertisement

Quonset Questions & Answers from/for Pete

topic posted Tue, March 14, 2006 - 9:41 AM by  Will
Share/Save/Bookmark
Dear Will and Michelle,
NICE JOB!!!!! I have been toying with building a Quonset home for 4 years. Recently, after adding up what I pay in rent, I have been finalizing plans. My plans are far smaller and more modest than yours. Your curved and artistic framing is above and beyond anything I will ever attempt. You two should be really proud!!!!

I am faced with many questions. If you would be willing to answer any of these I would greatly appreciate it. But you probably have a lot of homeowner responsibilities that are more important than my gazillion questions…so take your time.

1- What product did you use for spray on insulation? What R value did you get? How hard was it to apply?
2- How did you ventilate the roof and insulation? Or did you? What is required? Most info related to this is written for people who do not insulate and finish the arcs.
3- Why did you use the base plate foundation instead of the old concrete trough? Any pros or cons?
4- Most steel companies offer an end wall attachment that I believe amounts to a curved angle iron. Is this how you attached the end walls? can I get a photo? How did you seal this seam?
5- Any suggestions for the framing of the endwalls? 2 or 1 section? How did you raise them into the arc? I am very intimidated by this although I have done some framing of traditional buildings in the past. That curve looks hard.
6- It looks like you joined the wall at the lower 7.5” gutter part of the arc, could one do this in the upper seam part of the arc?
7- Most of my literature suggests building the arcs on the ground and hoisting um up. Why did you build it from the sides to the middle as demonstrated in your photo?