Advertisement

Question about the difference between Advaita Vedanta & Kashmir Saivism

topic posted Tue, November 17, 2009 - 7:01 AM by  Starbuck
Share/Save/Bookmark
Hello,

For a period I studied Shankara's Nondualistic Advaita Vedanta, later I found out about
Kashmir Saivism. For almost a year now I have this question about the difference between
Advaita Vedanta and Kashmir Saivism.

Maybe anyone can help me to get some answers to my question.
To explain my question I first will show a text I found on the Internet, about the
difference between Advaita en Kashmir Savism:

Kashmiri Saivism differs from Sankara's Advaita in that it does not consider the manifest world as unreal.
The world in which we live and with which we interact is a projection of Siva's dynamism and as real as Siva himself.
If God is real, everything that emanates from him must be as real.
By his free will Siva manifests the objective reality within himself using himself as the qualities of nature,
the source (tattvas) and substratum. Siva and his creation are as inseparable as the reflection of objects
in a mirror and the mirror itself. The reflection of the objects and the mirror which reflect them exist
within the mirror and they are inseparable. Similarly the manifested worlds of Siva and their constituent
parts do not exist outside of Siva but only as reflections within him without any independent existence of their own.
Thus according to Kashmiri Saivism, Siva and his creation are both real and inseparable.

I can follow the above text and understand what is said.
The only question I have is, what are the consequenses according to this difference?

In Advaita is said the world is unreal and only Brahman is real.
When there is sealrealization there is no more identification with the body or ego, only with the Brahman or real Self.
I understand that Kasmir Saivism calls the real Self (Siva). If there is no more identification with the body or ego,