Vegan Gelatin Replacement?

topic posted Sun, September 23, 2007 - 3:10 PM by  Painglass
I want to make some desserts for a friend who is borderline vegan (much more vegan then vegitarian). One of the desserts calls for gelatin, which I know is made from horse and pig hooves. What is a good vegan replacement?
posted by:
  • Unsu...
    would agar agar work for this..? Growing up my mom made us the yummiest jello made from agar agar, she would add fruit it was sooooo yummie!!!

    agar agar can be found at the health food store, probably near asain food (like by the seaweeds etc...)

    hope this helps you.
  • hi Painglass~

    i have used agar powder purchased from the bulk section of a natural foods grocery to replace gelatin before. it's been a while since i've used it and i recall it was a little tricky to get the consistency just right but it is a good substitute.

    Hain brand makes a vegetarian gelatin - like packaged Jell-o - which i think you can get in non-flavored as well as a few fruity flavors. i've used this before as well and it's super-yum-yum!

    and just as a side note of correction: gelatin is not made from bones and hooves...well, sort of from bones...
    it's made of *collagen* extracted from bones and connective tissue. just to clarify.

    good luck with your dessert!
    let us know what you used and how it turned out. :)

Recent topics in "Vegetarian & Vegan Recipe Exchange"

Topic Author Replies Last Post
nude gay man here Mohan 0 November 18, 2014
nude gay meet John 0 September 20, 2014
Yummy Vegetarian Chicken Rice Recipe. Savor The Yummy Taste Zheng 0 September 12, 2014
Do u love night club for fun? Unsubscribed 0 August 23, 2014